# REPORT FOR RESOLUTION

**SUBJECT:** Appointments to the Advisory Board

**REPORT OF:** The Lead Officer on behalf of the Advisory Board

#### **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To agree the terms for the Advisory Board for the forthcoming year.

#### **RECOMMENDATIONS**

It is recommended that the Joint Committee:

[i] Adopts the Terms of Reference and Composition of the Advisory Board set out in the Appendix to this report.

### **CONTACT OFFICERS**

Louise Hutchinson, PATROL Headquarters, Barlow House, Minshull Street,

Manchester, M1 3DZ Tel: 0161 242 5270

### 1.0 Introduction

- 1.1 The Standing Orders provide for the Joint Committee to establish and appoint an Advisory Board comprising the Lead Officer and other such officers and persons appointed by the Joint Committee to advise it on its functions.
- 1.2 The attached Terms of Reference enable an effective and efficient arrangement for matters relating to the PATROLAJC and the Bus Lane Adjudication Service Joint Committee BLASJC.
- 1.3 At the meeting held on 21 September 2010 the Joint Committee made appointments for the period ending at the next annual meeting, these are detailed in the attached document.
- 1.4 The Joint Committee is invited to adopt the terms of reference.

# PATROL & BUS LANE ADJUDICATION SERVICE ADVISORY BOARD

## **Terms of Reference**

- To assist and advise the Joint Committees on the overall policies and strategies for administering the adjudication service and on their responsibilities under the Traffic Management Act 2004 and Bus Lane Contraventions, (Penalty Charges, Adjudication and Enforcement)(England) Regulations 2005.
- 2. The Board has no remit to consider or influence decisions of adjudicators and the function of the adjudication service as an Independent Tribunal.
- 3. To receive and monitor progress against the Performance Management Strategy produced by the Head of Service and to review the service structure, organisation and administration and to scrutinise recommendations for changes before they are put before the Joint Committees.
- 4. To monitor and review the service capital and revenue budgets and to scrutinise recommendations for changes before they are put before the Joint Committees.
- 5. To assist and advise the Head of Service on the preparation of an annual service plan

The Board shall consist of always the Lead Officer plus up to eleven people:

- Seven representatives of local authorities as follows:
  - At least one representing an English Authority
  - At least one representing a Welsh Authority
  - At least one representing a District Council
  - At least one representing a County Council
  - At least one representing a Unitary or Metropolitan Council
  - At least one representing a Civil Bus Lane Enforcement Council.
- A representative each from the Department for Transport (DfT) and the Welsh Government (WG).
- A representative from a motoring association.
- □ An independent person with knowledge of judicial or tribunal systems.

The DfT, WG, Motoring Association and Independent members would act as exofficio members.

The Joint Committees shall make appointments to the Advisory Board based on recommendations received from the Advisory Board. Such appointments are to be

for four years but may be subject to reappointment. Except for the Lead Officer members shall retire on a four-year rotation cycle.

The Advisory Board shall recommend to the Joint Committees representatives of an appropriate motoring organisation and an appropriate independent person who should sit on the Board.

The DfT and WG Transport Directorate shall nominate its own representatives.

Advisory Board members should not be day-to-day managers of parking services and should where possible include representatives from legal and financial backgrounds as well as those responsible for parking.

The Board shall elect a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman and a Secretary from within the membership of the Board.

# Appointments and four year cycle

## **Local Authority Members**

At the meeting of the PATROL Adjudication Joint Committee held on 21<sup>st</sup> September the following local authority members were appointed and retire as set out below.

# September 2011

Manchester	Michelle Chard	Lead Authority
Winchester	Andy Hickman	<b>English District</b>

### September 2012

Carmarthenshire	Stephen Pilsner	Welsh Authority
Leeds	Chris Bramham	Metropolitan

## September 2013

Bournemouth	John Satchwell	English Unitary
Douitiefficulti	John Jakinwen	

#### September 2014

Hampshire	Marc Samways	English Shire
Bath and North East Somerset	Kathryn Eldridge	<b>Bus Lane Council</b>

# **Department for Transport Member**

This is a matter for the DfT to decide from time to time. Currently Alan Irving and Barbara King are their representatives.

# **Welsh Assembly Government Member**

This is a matter for the WG Transport Directorate to decide from time to time. Currently Colin Eakitts is their representative.

# **Independent Member**

The Joint Committee has appointed Graham Addicott OBE, as the independent member for a four year period ending June 2013.

## **Motoring Organisation Member**

The Advisory Board considers it appropriate that from time to time this appointment should be rotated between the RAC Foundation and the AA Motoring Trust. Currently, Paul Watters of the AA Motoring Trust is the motoring organisation representative.

#### **Bus Lane Member**

The Bus Lane Joint Committee has appointed Kathryn Eldridge from Bath and North East Somerset as the Bus Lane Member for a four year period ending September 2014.

#### Recommendations

On this basis the Lead Authority Representative, Michelle Chard and English District Representative, Alan Hickman becomes eligible for re-appointment. The Advisory Board recommends these re-appointments.